Image

I’m going to build an USB device on STM32 which can communicate (both ways, using wireless RFM70 2.4GHz transceiver module) with other devices, built on AVR μC (probably ATMega8).

I’ve gathered some stuff:

5x RFM70 2.4GHz transceivers – they are cheap, range 60m (open air) is fine for me
STM32 Value Line Discovery – as a cheap ST-LINK programmer/debugger (much cheaper than normal P/D devices…)
STM32 (STM32F103C8T6) – as a target STM32 – on AVT kit, with RTC quartz, goldpins and SWD interface
ATMega8 (from previous project) and ATMega8 Low Voltage (to work with 3.6V battery)
4x 3.6V batteries – taken from some similar-purpose devices I’ve got from my father
loads of resistors, capacitors, LEDs, cables and other stuff…

These are the most important things I need.

I still don’t have a name for the project, it’s hard to talk about it with someone.

Today I’ve finally managed to set up Discovery Board and STM32 on AVT kit, connect them and debug a simple LED-blinking program. I will write about it, probably tomorrow because it was a real pain in the ass so I think it would be useful for future generations.

